Who’s afraid of the big, bad ten-wheeler truck? (Aside from the MMDA)

I find nothing wrong riding alongside ten-wheeler trucks. As long as the truck driver doesn’t fall asleep, then I’m relatively safer, than, say, beside a jeepney, taxi, or a bus on Edsa. Trucks do not eat up my lane without signalling for a good several seconds first. Truck drivers are the best kind of drivers, proof would be their pro license. The bigger the truck, the safer it is – as long as it is well maintained.

I think of them as gentle giants along C5. Even if a mishap is due to happen, you can see them coming a mile away, and if you don’t then, something must be wrong with your driving as well.

That night, when the truck drivers went on strike, a pang of emptiness jolted my heart, finding I had only rich kids with their fancy SUVs to ride with. I don’t mind riding with trucks. In fact, I like it. Just give the drivers enough sleep, though, is all I ask the trucking association of the Philippines.

More roads, are what we motorists need. Roads that can stand the weather and weight of the tonloads. Perhaps government incentives for yachts/speedboats, not the truck ban, which, we’ve found out, is not so good for the economy.

I have faith in the capacity of the transport (trucking in this case) industry to lead us to true progress. Let us let them deliver the goods we need. Let the fires of industry burn. Job creation, not red tape.

About white hair leghorn

witty. charming. extemporaneous.
This entry was posted in business and economy, Filipino life - for real, opinion, solutions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment